Skip to main content


An tSean-Scoil

History of Scoil Mhuire

Our current school building was opened in 1974. Liam Ó Foghlú was its first principal. The children and staff moved from the ‘Sean-Scoil’ which is approximately a hundred metres from the site of our present school. The ‘Sean-Scoil’ was originally two schools where the boys’ school had a male principal and the girls’ school had a female principal.  Then, in 1970, these two schools were amalgamated. Two other parish schools were amalgamated with Scoil Mhuire – Dungeel National School in January 1975 and Glencuttane National School in July 1976.  


The Scoil Mhuire building was designed by architect Mr. Roche from Tralee and the contractors were Boyle Brothers Ltd., Killorglin. The school was blessed and opened by the Very Rev. Canon John Murphy.  The number of children that attended Scoil Mhuire in 1974 was very large so the ‘Sean Scoil’ continued to be used for some classes. 


Scoil Mhuire is an ‘H’ shaped building with a flat roof.  The original building consisted of ten classrooms.  Additional classrooms as well as a gym and stage were added in 1984 and an extension with additional support teaching rooms was completed in 1987.  In 2018, the school was further extended with two additional classrooms.  We currently have 16 classrooms, a library, 3 offices, 6 Support Teaching rooms, a Sensory Garden and several outdoor play spaces and gardens.  The grounds of the school adjoin St James’ Catholic Church.  


Scoil Mhuire is a Catholic school where children of different ethnic origins and religions are welcomed and cherished.


Principals of Scoil Mhuire since 1974


Liam Ó Foghlú 1974-1978

Micheál Ó Scanláin 1978-1986

Diarmuid Ó Conbhaí 1986-2006

Tomás Ó Colgáin 2006-2011

Muireann Seoighe 2012-present


Our School Crest

Our school crest was designed by Aileen Crowley, from the town of Killorglin.  While a pupil at Scoil Mhuire, Aileen won a competition to design a crest for the school.  We are particularly proud that our past pupil and designer of our school crest has gone on to become famous, representing Ireland in many European and World Rowing events!   


Aileen’s design was adapted and refined by the accomplished local artist and another past pupil, Jason Griffin.


Each of the elements of our crest, the bridge, the quill, the scroll and the Celtic swirl, represents important aspects of our school and our community:  


BRIDGE: Represents strength, stability and our connection to the town of Killorglin.  The bridge also reinforces the concept of education as ‘building bridges’.


QUILLRepresents education in various forms, art, journalism etc.


SCROLLRepresents achievement, honour, pride, building for the future


CELTIC SWIRLS:  Represent our Irish culture and traditions. 


HALORepresents Mary, after whom Scoil Mhuire is named.  She touches and joins together each of the other elements.


  • Principal

    Muireann Seoighe


    Deputy Principal

    Fiona Fitzgerald


    Junior Infants

    Orla Myers



    Senior Infants

    Stephanie Ronayne

    Julie O’Sullivan


    1st Class

    Orla O'Gorman

    Anne Marie Curran


    2nd Class

    Maria McKenna

    John O’Riordan


    3rd Class

    Catriona O'Connor

    Edel Moriarty


    4th Class

    Orlaith Reidy

    Jerry McCarthy


    5th Class

    William Joy

    Fiona Fitzgerald


    6th Class

    Nicole Boyle

    Sarah Pigott


    Special Education Teachers

    Sheila O’Caroll

    Paul Donoghue

    Niamh O’Reilly

    Louise Quill

    Elsie Stephens

    Muireann O’Donovan

    Carragh O'Riordan



    Deila Casey

    Niamh Tagney

    Selina O’Shea

    Aisling Evans

    Lisa Sayers

    Christina Murphy

    Colette Boyle

    Audrey Bainton

    Mary Coffey


    School Secretary

    Fiona Riordan

    School Caretaker

    Paudie Russell


Board of Management

  • Chairperson
    Jerome Conway
  • Secretary/School Principal
    Muireann Seoighe
  • Treasurer/Community Nominee
    Ruth McCarthy
  • Community Nominee
    Tim Collins,
  • Parents' Nominee
    Marianne Jones, Chris Brennan
  • Teachers' Nominee
    Jerry McCarthy